Staff Profiles: Meet Dora Isakova

Dora Isakova, Library Assistant

Hello, my name is Dora Isakova.  I moved to the US in 1997 from the former Soviet Union. I was born in Uzbekistan, in the city of Tashkent, and my native language is Russian. While in the former Soviet Union, I attended the Pedagogical Institute and received my BS in Education, after which I was certified as a teacher of elementary school and fine arts. In the US, I attended Touro College and received my BS in Human Services, with a concentration in Gerontology, in 2003.

I have been part of the staff at the Forest Hills branch of Touro College since 2003 as a library assistant. The Forest Hills branch is located at 71-02 113th Street in Queens. The Forest Hills library serves the New York School of Career and Applied Studies.  It supports the core curriculum; specializes in business, computer science, and the human services; and has ESL materials. Forest Hills is a very vibrant neighborhood and has plenty of things to do when students are not in class. Just a ten minute walk from our campus is a bustling shopping and dining area, in which students can find all types of cuisines at all types of price points. As a librarian, the part of my job that I enjoy most is watching my students grow over the years and attain their professional and personal goals. I’ve gotten to know many of the students very well over the course of their time at Touro College, and I’m very proud when they come back after graduation and share their achievements with me.

Outside of work, my ideal vacation would be to travel through Europe and visit every country. Besides a brief trip to Moscow, I haven’t had the pleasure of exploring Europe yet and would love to make that my next trip. I enjoy ethnic cuisines, especially those from Middle Eastern cultures. In my free time, I enjoy reading books and traveling with my husband and children. Something that most people don’t know about me is that I enjoy architecture and the intricacies behind every blueprint; I hope that one day in the future when I have more free time I will be able to learn more about the field of architecture and will one day be able to design my own house.

Contributed by: Dora Isakova, Library Assistant, Forest Hills

Leave a Reply

