What Are You Reading This Summer?

(CC0 image)

One great way to spend a few free summer hours is to do some fun reading. The summer is a great time to fuel your personal interests by reading some new and exciting things. It’s also a good way for students to keep their minds engaged and continue learning over break. With the end of classes, students often find themselves with the opportunity to read items not mandated by their course curriculum. The LCW students that I spoke to are planning to read some great things this summer! Here is what a few of our students are looking forward to reading during their time away from classes:

Esther A. plans to read the “Vanessa Michael Munroe series by Taylor Stevens because the main character is a strong female leader boss and super genius at languages. She also uses her skills to do justice and help people and she gets paid a lot”.

Miriam D. says “I plan on reading more non-fiction stories about Navy Seals and members of the army. I’m also going to read more stories about Olympic competitors like Unbroken”.

Other students plan to get a head start on next semester classes and research some career goals. Esther M. says she plans to “read publications in the ASHA (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association) Journals in to keep up with speech studies and to prepare for my speech classes next semester”.

Tessa B. says “I intend to read some medical and science journals to learn about different career options. I’m hoping to read something that catches my interest to gear my major in the right direction”.

Students are not the only ones planning to enjoy some summer reading. In between waiting for her summer school teaching assignment in Macroeconomics here at LCW in July, Professor Barbara Ellen Berkowitz will be revisiting theater studies. She says “I’m going to read some more plays and books on the Theater. I have a degree in Theater already and would like to rehash some things I’ve forgotten. Hopefully I can use some of the readings in classes in the future”. On deck are some great plays like A Raisin In The Sun by Lorraine Hansberry, The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde and Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett, all of which can be found in Touro libraries.

This summer I would like to finish the Game of Thrones series by George R. R. Martin. The libraries will be open all summer but I think I can still squeeze in some exciting adventure filled reading.

For more ideas on summer reading selections, you can check out the New York Public Library webpage for their Summer Reading 2017 Challenge.

What’s on your to-read list? Share some of your summer reading goals in the comments below. Also, remember to check the Touro Library catalog to see if we have a copy of the book or access to the journal you would like to read. Touro library collections include a wide variety of materials to satisfy all interest.

Contributed by: Sharell Walker, Librarian, Lander College for Women

4 thoughts on “What Are You Reading This Summer?

  1. kirksnyder3 June 7, 2017 / 2:58 pm

    I’ve been reading mostly poetry lately (Ted Berrigan, Susie Timmons, Eileen Myles) so this summer I plan to add some fiction back into my reading repertoire.

  2. tourolibraries June 12, 2017 / 10:41 am

    I have started reading Wild, by Cheryl Strayed.

    • laurelscheinfeld June 14, 2017 / 9:23 am

      Thanks Sharell for the great ideas! I went to the NYPL Summer Challenge website as you suggested and made note of a few titles that interested me. I requested them from my public library. I am going to read “City on Fire” by Garth Risk Hallberg and “A Spool of Blue Thread” by Anne Tyler. I’ve read several of Anne Tyler’s books and really like them. I just finished Lianna Moriarty’s “Truly Madly Guilty”.

Leave a Reply

