Bay Shore Welcomes New Librarian Keith Pardini

Vintage Long Island map, featuring Touro Bay Shore (source)
Vintage Long Island map, featuring Touro Bay Shore (source)

How’s it going Touro Community! My name is Keith, and I’m the newest librarian at the School of Health Sciences in Bay Shore. For those of you unfamiliar with our Long Island campus, here at Bay Shore we cater to both undergraduate and graduate students who are primarily enrolled in health sciences fields. The majority of students pursue programs such as: Biology, Psychology, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Physician’s Assistant. The school also offers programs in Education and Special Education.

I enjoy the Health Science Library because I’m able to meet and help so many aspiring health care professionals. I truly appreciate the time and effort these students put into their studies. As a former student, I remember (or try to forget!) the long hours we put in…oh yes, good times! Great moments straining our eyes reading, painfully searching for that perfect word when writing a paper, learning how to create proper citations (before RefWorks), staying up way too late studying, and the difficulty of searching databases. I also remember that as a student, it can be a comfort to know that there’s someone at school who has your back and whom you can rely on.

Now, as a librarian sitting on the other side of the room, I hope that I can relate to some of our students’ challenges in school and offer that support. It’s also important to create a welcoming atmosphere at school. Making the library a a warm, friendly space for students to collaborate, study, and work is essential. I remember the quiet retreat of the library being my sanctuary during my college years.

Rosenthal Library, Queens College of the City University of New York
Rosenthal Library at my alma mater, Queens College of the City University of New York

 

Outside of the library you can find me on the sidelines of soccer fields coaching my daughter’s team, behind the bench for my son’s hockey team, or driving around Long Island playing taxi driver to my kid’s endless events. I’m also a very amateur carpenter looking for the next fun thing to build to add to our backyard ‘adventure park’.

I look forward to meeting you, so come on down for a visit!

Contributed by: Keith Pardini, Librarian, Bay Shore

 

Leave a Reply

