Student Post: I am a New Yorker

(CC0 image via Pexels)
NYC skyline (CC0 image via Pexels)

This post was contributed by: Mao Mitsuya, student of the Touro Graduate School of Business.

My biggest dream was to live in New York City. I kept dreaming it every single day and telling everyone for 7 years. I finally made it come true last September, and I’m living my dream now.

I first visited my dream city, New York, 8 years ago from Japan with my friend just because she asked me to come with her. I didn’t know anything about this city I would soon fall in love with, except that they have the Statue of Liberty and 9/11 happened when I was in junior high school. I was not really expecting anything special, and I did not even do research until I was on my way to NYC.

I remember we got here late at night. On our way to the hotel, we passed through Times Square by bus. Although I was living in Tokyo at that time, one of the biggest cities in the world, I remember I was surprised to see the city really never sleeps. I felt so much energy!

Shibuya, Tokyo at night (CC0 image via Wikipedia)
Shibuya, Tokyo at night (CC0 image via Wikipedia)

From the following day, we explored the city a lot and realized that people in NY are so nice and friendly! In Japan, we don’t usually talk with strangers, so it was shocking in a good way for me. As you know, New York City is called the Big Apple since it has people from all over world. Therefore, a lot of people asked us if we lived here. I love traveling, and I have been to about 30 countries, but it was my first time not to be treated as a traveler while traveling. I was very impressed and soon started thinking I wanted to be a part of this community: a New Yorker. I have met a lot of people since I moved here, and most of them are originally from another country.

I did some research, as I have been wondering about the percentage of immigrants in this city. According to one article, “3.07 million foreign-born immigrants live in New York City, more than any other city in the world. There are more foreign-born New Yorkers than there are people living in America’s third-largest city, Chicago.” Another article says, “The foreign-born share of New York’s population rose from 15.9% in 1990, to 20.4% in 2000, to 22.3% in 2013, according to the U.S. Census Bureau. New York was home to 4,383,311 immigrants in 2013, which is more than the total population of Los Angels, California.”

I hope New York City will stay diverse and keep attracting people from all over the world.

 

Further Reading from Touro Libraries

Foner, N. (2013). One out of three: immigrant New York in the twenty-first century. New York, NY: Columbia University Press

Genn, A. (2016). NY to help low-income immigrants become citizens. Long Island Business News.

Minetor, R. (2010). New York immigrant experience: a guided tour through history. New York, NY: GPP

Leave a Reply

