Staff Profile: Chelsea DeGlopper

IMAG0338bw_Fotor_SquareWho are you, and how long have you worked at Touro?

My name is Chelsea DeGlopper, and I’ve been the Instructional Design Librarian at the Touro Midtown campus for 3 years.

Where were you born? Where else have you lived?

I grew up outside of Buffalo, NY on a vaguely pork chop-shaped island in the Niagara River, just above the Niagara Falls, along the Canadian border: the land of chicken wings, sponge candy, Dyngus Day, and lake-effect snow (but not that much). During college, I lived in Rochester, NY and studied abroad for a semester in Prague, CZ. After graduate school, I continued my eastward trajectory to come to NYC.

Although I didn't yet know I'd become a librarian, Rush Rhees Library was my favorite spot in college
Although I didn’t yet know I’d become a librarian, Rush Rhees Library was my favorite spot in college

What did you study in college?

I got my undergraduate degree from the University of Rochester, where I did a double-major in history and religion plus a minor in music. I got my MLIS from SUNY Buffalo.

How did you become interested in Library and Information Science?

During college I had two different jobs in our libraries. I started out as a research assistant in the Rare Books Collection transcribing recordings of interviews about the 1964 race riots in the city of Rochester. It was fascinating work (and really improved my typing speed!). I helped out with a few other projects on the side, assisting visiting researchers and working on a shelf-reading project with one of the librarians. Although checking every book on the shelves against a list of materials probably doesn’t sound that interesting, I was enthralled by the sheer age of so many of the items. It was just a summer job, but the combination of history and knowledge appealed to me greatly, sparking my first interest in working in libraries as a career. That job got me a permanent position working with the main Reference department. I got to see more of the responsibilities and roles of a typical academic librarian and learned skills that still serve me well. When I finished my degree and was considering graduate school, library science seemed like a natural fit.

What is the part of your job that you enjoy the most?

Overall, I enjoy librarianship because it allows me to do many different types of work, but the component that I most enjoy is teaching. Teaching comes naturally to me, from coercing my younger sister to play my student as children, to acting as a TA in undergrad, to the different workshops and college courses I teach now. I love learning, and I greatly enjoyed and appreciated my college experience, so the opportunity to hopefully spark some of that same joy in my students is as rewarding as it is challenging.

IMG_20150626_170849
I also volunteer at The Met. The view from the roof is one of the perks!

If you weren’t in your current field, what would you be doing?

The other career I came closest to pursuing was actually as an academic and college professor, so I would not have strayed far. As a child, I wanted to be an astronaut, but as I’m claustrophobic and also afraid of heights (acrophobic, according to Google), that probably wouldn’t have worked out too well. Currently, my outside interests are in technology and web development. Although, there’s plenty of overlap there as well! I’ve had the opportunity to test my web design skills in working on a project to improve the library website, so look out for a major update coming soon.

What is your ideal vacation?

I love being on the water, but I’m not a huge fan of beaches. For a relaxing vacation, give me a dock on a lake, where I can hike, swim, kayak, boat, or sit in the shade with a book, and I’m ecstatic. For an exhilarating though less restorative getaway, I love exploring new cities, preferably on foot, perhaps getting a little lost on the way.

kohunlich mayan ruins
At the Kohunlich Mayan ruins on vacation in Quintana Roo, Mexico

When you travel, what’s one thing you’d never leave without?

My circa-2009 160GB iPod Classic. On par with my phone and wallet, it’s something I’m almost never without, but I find it particularly crucial for travel. Between my large music collection and my favorite podcasts, I can keep myself entertained for hours while in transit, and the battery lasts for days. In other areas I enjoy keeping up with the latest technology, but on this I’m a holdout.

Favorite ice cream flavor?

Butter pecan, in a sugar cone, from Mississippi Mudd’s.

 

Leave a Reply

