Staff Profile: Valerie Shrager

10533688_513149538815782_9006384022409636595_nMy name is Valerie Shrager, and I am the Library Assistant at Touro College Midtown. I was born in Kiev, Ukraine but have lived in New York for most of my life. I am fluent in Russian as well as English. Before working at the library, I attended Touro College, where I got my BA in Psychology.  During that time, I also did work-study in the Graduate School of Social Work.  

I love the atmosphere at Touro College and knew I wanted to continue working here.  I saw there was an opening for a Library Assistant, and I jumped at the chance because of my love for books and working with people.IMG_3287

​​When I am not working, I enjoy reading, traveling, and spending time with my Maltese puppy. Something people may be surprised to know about me is that I have my cosmetology license.  I worked as a hairstylist and makeup artist for 5 years prior to deciding to return to school and earn a degree.  My favorite quote is “Dream as if you’ll live forever. Live as if you’ll die today.”

Leave a Reply

