Do you know where your phone is?

(CC0 image via Pixabay)
(CC0 image via Pixabay)

“Bye Mom, I love you.”

Those were the last words I said into my phone before it vanished into thin air. After I came back from my lunch break, I unsuspectingly rummaged for my phone in my purse, but I couldn’t see or feel it. Something dropped in my stomach. I said to myself, “Don’t get nervous, it is there, it is there, it must be in there….You just can’t find it because you are looking for it like a maniac and your hands are shaking”. So I took a deep breath and then poured my whole purse on the floor in the office.  Disappointingly, it didn’t reappear from some hidden corner in my bag, as I was hoping. It was gone!

I got really panicky. I was thinking to myself, “what about all the information on my phone, all the photos and the contacts?” I raced out of the office and tried to retrace my steps. I walked into stores and places that I had passed on my lunch break and asked if anybody had found a blue Android phone? The answers were, of course, all negative.

I am not the optimistic type who would wait for a kind soul to bring back my phone. Even if somebody wanted to bring my phone back, it would have been hard to do so, since it was passcode protected. I also had a feeling that my phone was actually stolen rather than lost, so there was really not much to do but to take action and not let anyone to take too much advantage of the situation. It was time to suspend the phone.

Since I did’t have a phone recovery or anti-theft app on my Android, I went online to see if I could erase the data via my desktop computer.  Android Device Manager came to my rescue. As I had already suspended my phone via Verizon, I could not track down my Android anymore. But to be honest, who wants to have a fist fight over a phone anyway? Definitely not me! All I wanted to do now was to remotely erase the data and lock it. And since my phone was connected to my Google account, thankfully, I could do that with the Android Device Manager.

At the end of the day, I was so exhausted that I just felt I need to go for a long walk instead of replacing my phone right away. That night the image of my blue phone was floating in front of me in my dreams. Was that an official goodbye from my friendly Android?  Maybe!

I went to buy a new phone the next day, and since my 2 year contract was up anyway, I did not need to break the bank. I guess I can consider myself lucky in that way. When I told my story to the Verizon representative, he assured me that once the SIM card is activated in a new phone, the SIM card in the lost phone will not work at all. He said, “Your Android is practically dead.”

This experience was a good lesson for me and made me start looking for a variety of apps that might come in handy in case I lose my phone again. This might also be a good time for you to do the same thing.  Here are a few apps to consider:

Lookout for Android and iOS – Similar to Android Device Manager, it helps in locating your phone. It also alerts you if your SIM card was removed or replaced. It backs-up your data.

Wheres My Droid? – In addition to helping you to locate your Android, its ring feature forces your phone to ring, even if it is on silent or vibrate. 

For Apple devices, one of the best apps is its own Find My iPhone. Find My iPhone will make the phone beep, or display a message with your phone number and lock the device. If necessary, Find My iPhone also lets you wipe your data. Since this app is connected to the icloud, your data is automatically backed-up.

That was my phone story, what is yours?

2 thoughts on “Do you know where your phone is?

  1. archivistphil August 25, 2015 / 11:43 am

    I was lucky – the one time I thought I lost my phone, it was merely hidden under a pile of stuff on my desk (I rang it with another phone to locate it). But until it was recovered, I spent a few of the most agonizing moments of my life…will never forget that awful ‘pit of the stomach’ feeling.

  2. cdeglopper August 31, 2015 / 4:06 pm

    Thanks for pointing me to the android device manager! I was 90% sure I’d left my phone at home the other day, but it still made me a tiny bit panicky. I logged in, and sure enough it showed up right at my home address 🙂

Leave a Reply

