Staff Profile: Katie Flood (+Tips for health science students!)

katie

My name is Katie Flood and I am the evening Library Assistant at the Bay Shore campus. I’m fairly new to the Touro community, having just started my tenure here in early June. I moved to Long Island after graduating from SUNY Oswego with a Bachelor of Science in Wellness Management and minors in Health Science and Athletic Coaching. I was extremely interested in a position with the Bay Shore Library because I felt my health science background would allow me to relate to the students here and act as a resource.

Having graduated in May 2014, I’m no stranger to the struggles of being a Health Science student, like so many of our own here at Bay Shore.  I spent countless nights cramming for Anatomy & Physiology, making acronyms to remember the twelve cranial nerves or the bones of the wrist, and formulating research questions using a PICO diagram. In my opinion, any major in the science field is challenging because so many concepts are interrelated. Therefore, it’s hard to understand one concept if you don’t understand another. Similarly, lower level classes are the fundamentals of the upper level ones. So understanding (and more importantly, remembering) even the most basic concepts is key to succeeding in this field.

Here are a few tips that I’ve found really successful during my time in college:

  1. Plan ahead: Many professors give out their notes/lesson plans ahead of time. If you’re able to read the chapter and take notes prior to your lecture, you won’t have to worry about writing down every detail during class. You can use your class time to focus more on understanding the discussion and clarifying anything you might still find confusing.
  2. Study in groups: Connecting with your peers and creating study groups can be really helpful. You’re able to share study tips and ask each other questions. Plus, you’ll also be in the company of other people, so you’ll be less likely to procrastinate.
  3. Unplug and disconnect: It’s so easy to be distracted by the internet and social media. Try to avoid using the computer while studying to minimize distractions. If you absolutely have to use the computer, try using a website like http://getcoldturkey.com/, which allows you to block certain websites (like Facebook or Twitter) for a set amount of time so that you aren’t tempted to use them!

As a closing note, I’d like to leave Touro students with one final piece of advice. I encourage everyone to take full advantage of your library during your time at Touro. I will admit, I frequently utilized the library as a quiet place to study, but I rarely took advantage of its many resources. However, after working here for just one short month, I’ve been amazed to see how many different services are offered to students through the library. All of the Touro College libraries offer access to thousands of books (both print and electronic), online databases, and medical journals. The Touro College Library website has tools to help with citations, developing a thesis, or even how to research a certain topic. Or, most simply, if you’re ever unsure of how to even begin researching a topic or where to find a book, simply ask your campus librarian for help (I promise, we don’t bite!).

Leave a Reply

