Staff Profile: Sharell Walker

Librarian Sharell Walker
Librarian Sharell Walker

Introduce yourself?

My name is Sharell Walker and I have been a Librarian at Touro College for 9 months at the Lander College for Women. I was born in Brooklyn, NY and have lived in New York all my life. Before getting my Master’s in Library Science I got a Bachelor’s in English.

What do you like most about your job? What’s the most challenging?

The part of my job that I enjoy the most is interacting with different people every day and the variety of questions I get asked. No day is ever exactly the same as yesterday. As students ask me questions about new areas, it prompts me to learn about those areas and expand my own knowledge. The most challenging part of my job is not being able to read Hebrew at a branch with a large number of Jewish studies students. I am slowly learning to identify certain books by sight, and identify certain books by the sound of their titles.  I am grateful to have two other staff members here who are proficient in reading the language and are more than happy to help teach me how to identify things.

If not a librarian, what would you be?

If I weren’t a librarian I would be a full time writer. I still write on my own for enjoyment nearly every day, but being a librarian is steadier, and I get to interact with people on a daily basis. I recently started using a writing prompting service called Daily Page to give me new ideas every day for what to write about.

Any hobbies?

My biggest hobby is reading a variety of books, from popular fiction and classic literature to sociology and psychology. I just recently finished reading Sybil by Flora Rheta Schreiber. It’s the story of a woman with a multiple personality disorder that manifested into 16 different personalities, When I’m not at work you can either find me at home with my extended family, out walking my three yorkies, or visiting some new and exciting exhibit or trail.

Up close and personal with a Deer on Penn Caves Wildlife Tour
Up close and personal with a Deer on Penn Caves Wildlife Tour

I greatly enjoy going to places like zoos and wildlife preserves to get up close with different animals, checking out different ecological and archaeological sites or visiting museums to check out new exhibits and my favorite pieces. One of my favorite places is the Greek and Roman department at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, where I volunteered before coming to Touro College.

Brooklyn Museum Visit
Brooklyn Museum Visit

I’m looking forward to all the new experiences I will gain at Touro College and helping more patrons.

All photos by Sharell Walker.

Contributed by: Sharell Walker, Librarian, Lander College for Women

One thought on “Staff Profile: Sharell Walker

Leave a Reply

