Tech Addiction?

 

(source)
(source)

We live in a time of high speed and even higher velocity.  Sometimes walking on the streets of our great city I have a feeling that I am living in the zombie land. Did you ever try to look around?  People talk to themselves, shake heads, clap, sing.  And only after a while you realize that they are talking on the phone, listening to the music, or dancing to the same tunes simultaneously.  Our gadgets have become our best friends.

I thought that as a grown up person with professional career skills, and grown up children I am completely immune to this madness…until my pet iPad unexpectedly died on me. I was lost in a second.

When I got home from work, the first thing I saw was a black and white screen instead of the usual picture, so I grabbed the phone and called Apple.  I was connected to Genius #1, who was very kind and worked me through the whole process of the attempt to resurrect my pet.  Not only that, I repeated the process on my own two more times.  Genius #1 promised to call to check on my progress, but the call never came.  I called again and Genius #2 helped me again with the same process of resurrecting, but he told me that it might be dead for good and that I had to get to the Apple store to get more significant help.  I scheduled an appointment with the Apple store just in case.  My last resort was to try to recharge the battery.  Maybe…?  At 3 in the morning I woke up to check on my iPad.  (How much more crazy can you be?!).  It did not work.  The next day, I had a meeting with the Genius (#3) in the Apple store.  Fortunately, he was able to help me…for a price.

You cannot imagine the level of my happiness.  The apotheosis of my joy came when in the evening I was able to restore all my data from my PC to my resurrected iPad.  I was hugging and kissing it like a crazy person.  At the same time the normal part of me was looking at my other self and thinking, “I need psychological help!”  But don’t we all?  There is plenty of special research and studies, which tries to explain the phenomenon of mankind’s dependency of gadgets.  Try our “QuickSearch” – Put in “iPhone dependency” (or iPad) and you will get more than 25,000 results.

My point is: Don’t we lose our humanity in our desire to rely too much on the latest technology?  This is an ugly truth.

P.S.  If you want to get acquainted with the latest iPad without risking total tech-dependancy, come to Touro College Libraries, and you can check it out for your use for 24 hours.

unnamed

.

Contributed by: Marina Zilberman, Chief Midtown Librarian

One thought on “Tech Addiction?

  1. Rita Hilu September 18, 2014 / 3:27 pm

    I love it!!!!

Leave a Reply

