Staff Profile: Laurel Scheinfeld

 

laurel

I am Laurel Scheinfeld, a Reference Librarian at the Bay Shore campus.  I have been working for Touro Libraries for three years, since June 2011, a month after I graduated from Long Island University (LIU) with my Master’s degree in Library Science.  I feel blessed to have been given this opportunity.  In my last semester at LIU, I reached out to the Chief Librarian at the Bay Shore campus to request an internship, which was a requirement of the program in Library Science at LIU.  I didn’t realize at the time that a Librarian position would open up while I was there – that was a wonderful surprise.

I had contacted the Bay Shore library because I felt it would be an ideal place to do my internship.  The combination of the Health Sciences and Education were areas I had interest and background in.  My Bachelor’s degree is in nutrition and I worked for many years in the field of Maternal, Infant and Child Nutrition.  So I had studied health science and also learned a lot about child growth and development on the job.  In addition, I took courses in Medical Librarianship at LIU.  The Bay Shore campus is also very close to my home, so the short commute was a plus.

The library internship was a great experience.  I worked on a project of weeding the print journal collection.  This was a great project for me because I love medical journals.  I find them fascinating and educational.  As a nutritionist, my favorite part of the job had been keeping up on all the latest research in the field and sharing interesting articles with my colleagues and clients.  I even requested articles occasionally from the National Agricultural Library which was near where I was working in Maryland at the time (they came by snail mail back then!).

When I did my dietetic internship back in 1991 at UCSF Medical Center, my favorite part of that experience was doing my case study which entailed spending hours in the library searching for articles related to my patient’s case, and then presenting the case in front of my internship class and faculty.  I actually won an award for my case study presentation. Back then at the UCSF Medical Center Library, MEDLINE citations and abstracts were available on CD-Roms.  We would have to fill out cards to give to the Librarian to request printouts of the full-text articles.  So research took a bit longer than it does now that we have instant access to so much full-text.

Today you can often find me browsing the medical journals as I check them in, finding articles that relate to projects we are working on and finding book reviews that help with collection development.  I also love teaching our students and faculty how to use our databases.

When I’m not at work or busy with my two wonderful kids, Jack and Becky, you can usually find me hiking a trail.  I belong to four hiking groups and have hiked almost all the trails on Long Island.  I love the combination of being in nature and getting exercise while socializing with others.  I especially love when we spot an animal while hiking.  Above are some pictures I have taken on my walks.

I recently came across some Mountain Laurel bushes, and this was very special because I was named after this flower.

Mountain Laurel at Bear Mountain State Park
Mountain Laurel at Bear Mountain State Park

Happy Trails to You! What are some of your favorite hikes?

View from the top at Bear Mountain State Park
View from the top at Bear Mountain State Park

Contributed by: Laurel Scheinfeld, Librarian, Bay Shore

6 thoughts on “Staff Profile: Laurel Scheinfeld

  1. archivistphil August 14, 2014 / 12:13 pm

    Nice post and wonderful photos! Our favorite hike has always been the Mashomack Preserve on Shelter Island, but now we must try the Morton Preserve at Sag Harbor next! I also would love to hike Bear Mountain one day; my wife has gone birdwatching there, but so far I’ve only cycled up Perkins Drive.

  2. laurelscheinfeld August 14, 2014 / 2:05 pm

    Thanks Phil. I’ve never been to Shelter Island – I will have to put it on my list. When you go to Morton make sure to bring bird seed!

  3. tourolibraries August 15, 2014 / 9:12 am

    We will definitely be visiting Morton, my wife will love hearing that about the birds! The Mashomack is really nice – there are four loops, from 1 mile to 11 miles. The entrance is super close to the ferry landing from Sag Harbor – you could easily walk to/from the boat. You’d probably want a car or at least a bike to access it from the Greenport ferry, though. And ticks aplenty, so you need to guard against those.

  4. laurelscheinfeld August 15, 2014 / 9:25 am

    Maybe we could organize a Touro + family group hike sometime on a Sunday. Morton and Mashomack. I know there are at least a couple of other library staff who like to hike. That would be fun. I’m used to guarding against ticks! I got myself a pair of hiking pants that have insect repellant in the fabric 🙂

  5. tourolibraries August 18, 2014 / 10:14 am

    That would definitely be fun! Maybe when the leaves are turning in the fall? I do recall Mashomack closes to hikers after a certain date (winter/hunting season).

Leave a Reply

