POEM IN YOUR POCKET DAY 2014

poem in your pocket

Tomorrow, April 24, is Poem in Your Pocket Day. On this day, people all over the United States select a poem, carry it with them, and share it with others throughout the day. Dr. Gerald Barry, former associate dean of the School of Health Sciences, was a champion of Poem in Your Pocket Day. Each year he promoted this special day and encouraged (even insisted) his students and colleagues bring a poem to school to share. Since Dr. Barry retired this past fall, the library at the Bay Shore Campus has stepped in to promote Poem in Your Pocket Day. So in honor of Dr. Barry, go ahead and take a few minutes to find a poem, print it out and put it in your pocket.

Dr Barry
Dr. Gerald Barry

Your Touro Libraries can help. In addition to many print books of poetry on our shelves, we also have a digital subscription to Poetry Magazine and many other Poetry Journals so finding a poem is just a few clicks away. Here is a poem from Poetry Magazine for you to enjoy:

The School Where I Studied

By Yehuda Amichai
Translated By Chana Bloch and Chana Kronfeld

I passed by the school where I studied as a boy

and said in my heart: here I learned certain things

and didn’t learn others. All my life I have loved in vain

the things I didn’t learn. I am filled with knowledge,

I know all about the flowering of the tree of knowledge,

the shape of its leaves, the function of its root system, its pests and parasites.

I’m an expert on the botany of good and evil,

I’m still studying it, I’ll go on studying till the day I die.

I stood near the school building and looked in. This is the room

where we sat and learned. The windows of a classroom always open

to the future, but in our innocence we thought it was only landscape

we were seeing from the window.

The schoolyard was narrow, paved with large stones.

I remember the brief tumult of the two of us

near the rickety steps, the tumult

that was the beginning of a first great love.

Now it outlives us, as if in a museum,

like everything else in Jerusalem.

Source: Poetry (September 1999).

Leave a Reply

